Becoming Part of the Government

Valentine’s Day, 2019 is my first official day of working for the Indonesian Ministry of Tourism. I got accepted into the institution through a rigorous three-month long selection process which includes two computer-assisted test and three rigorous interviews in the capital – beating a great odd (who would’ve thought that the hardest recruitment process that I have to endure came from the Ministry of Tourism?). I am now a Civil Servant Candidate undergoing one-year probation period and currently working on policies related to the tourism industry; a position deemed fitting to my law degree.

I came from parents that was a civil servant and a travel agent. My father was a civil servant before he retire at the age of 60, so becoming one does not seem like an idea too far off. He was working in taxation department while I am taking a different route by going into hospitality — similar to one that my mom took in her younger days. I like to think that going into the Ministry of Tourism is the perfect blend of their backgrounds.

Becoming a civil servant seems like second nature to me – I am always interested in working in government, I like to discuss politics, and I believe that as a human being I have a certain duty I have to fulfill in service of others. This, however seems weird to people around me. There is a large distrust to the government – for many question the ethics, professionalism and frankly, intelligence. There is also this stigma that being part of the government won’t earn you sufficient amount of money to live comfortably.

So why would I gamble on my idealism to be poor for life – whether in morals on in materials?

Because I want to break the stigma. I know secondhand from my father that people can be successful while contributing a lot of a good in field they are passionate about, regardless of the hardship. I would like to take the chance – to try to walk the talk in a way I find could’ve been impactful. If possible, I want to bridge the different layers of the society by means of social-impact through tourism. Many of the Indonesian I admired are those prominent figures who had successfully overcome their hardships with integrity, with passion, with intellect. Ultimately that is what I wanted in a way I know how.

Yet for many others, being part of the government is the dream job: stable income, guaranteed pension fund, the short working hour, the connection, the title – being part of the government put you on the front of the crowd. This, however, seems a weirdly irrelevant idea to my peer. I am the first person out of everyone in my high school roaster/alma mater to be part of the government. My campus alumna was also notoriously known for being capitalistic #gaji8juta. Meanwhile, based upon my political compass is that I am actually a libertarian left (if you’re curious of your standing, try the test yourself here.)

I do not know what the future will be – I might have to permanently move to a different province in the next decade. I might be working in administrative law for the rest of my life. I might be living in a drastically different way than my upbringing, steered away from my peers. I honestly do not know.

But do other really know, what the other path truly brings?

And do I have to decide now, for my lifetime, that this path is only going straight with seemingly no alternative?

Upon the seven-ish months I am becoming part of the government I have met a lot of different people with point of views I have never once considered. I met people of different backgrounds and grew to understand the many different layers of the indonesian society. I learned firsthand the good and bad of the current administration and have been more thoughtful in formulating opinions on public policies and public causes. I met some of the most inspiring people I’ve met in my life. I was able to travel and see different parts of my own country which I never even gave a second thought to. I found out the beauties of Indonesian nature and the Indonesian hospitality I only hear about. I was able to work on different causes that I can only dream about. I also am happy to be able to bring different perspective in many discussion with my friends and family. I also learn that I can be professional while maintaining my point of view.

For now, I enjoy what I am doing and am grateful for all the opportunity it presents me.

Leave a comment