On Reclaiming My Voice

Jakarta

08:14 a.m.

I am currently sitting at the semi-outdoor café located in the mezzanine of my office. I am the only customer here – the first customer of the day, really. A glass of caramel latte is now on my left, my phone is charging away on a different table, and I have my backup phone connected to a wifi on my left. Right now my only duty is to wait my boss to arrive and wait for her further instruction.

It’s been years since I last wrote a piece on this blog, and today I am reminded to write again. To write my thought into world and braving myself to stand for a side, to have an opinion, to voice issues that mattered. Embarrassing enough its’ been a year or so since I have been reluctant to take a stance in anything for a matter of being politically correct – especially now that I am a civil apparatus working for my country. Nonetheless, I am still human with the freedom of expression. While it still last, I think I should have evaluate my decision to steer clear from ‘picking a side’ to ‘believe in something that I think is right’.

And therefore, I am blogging again. Moving forward to write and be inspired, and hopefully inspire, again.

Leave a comment